Gingerbread Slime

Leave a comment Standard

gingerbreadslimeI have seen many slime recipes that I have fancied making for O over the past few months but I always thought it would be difficult to make (it’s slime for goodness sake!) and a big ingredient in making slime is Borax, a common household and commercial chemical that is often used as a type of laundry detergent or part of one. It is American as far as I am aware and until a month or so ago I had been unable to find it anywhere in Kuwait until I visited ACE Hardware in Shuwaikh when I noticed it in the cleaning aisles. It was just under 3KD for a box but for the amount you need to make the slime, it will last forever! Or you may even want to use it for cleaning – it says on the box how many uses it has which I was amazed at!

With it being the festive time of of year I was very excited when I found a Christmasy slime recipe – Gingerbread Slime on Growing a Jeweled Rose, one of my favourite blogs. When O was having his lunch one day last week I decided to take the plunge and attempt to make some slime! I made half of what the recipe asked for as I didn’t want to use that much glue if it was a disaster!

O loved playing with the slime and played for a full hour just exploring the texture and stretching the slime. He thought it was so much fun! I then gave him a tray and some buttons and we made some gingerbread men shapes with the slime. The smell is beautiful – so warming and Christmasy. We played for another half an hour making gingerbread men before O was starting to get ready for his nap. I put the slime to one side and after his nap he asked to play with it again. It provided so much entertainment and we will be definitely making some different coloured and scented slimes in the future. Much easier to make than I expected and although it makes a hell of a mess, it was actually really easy to clean with some warm water and soap.

What you need:

In one bowl:

2 cups white school glue

1 and 1/2 cups very warm water

Ground cinnamon and ginger – to scent and colour

In a separate bowl:

3/34 teaspoons Borax

1 and 1/3 cups very warm water

What we did:

  • Add the school glue and spices (ginger, cinnamon) to a bowl and mix together
  • Once mixed add the 1 and 1/2 cups very warm water to the bowl and mix.
  • In a separate bowl mix together the 1 and 1/3 cups very warm water with the Borax
  • Once mixed add the Borax mixture to the glue mixture and mix together with your hands. As you are mixing a slime will form.
  • The residual water at the bottom of the bowl is not needed and can be thrown away.

*I made half of this recipe by halving all the ingredients, which was plenty for my son to play with. If I was making half the recipe again I would a slight pinch more of Borax.

 

 

Leave a Reply

