Baby-safe Cloud Dough

Leave a comment Standard

cloud1As you may have seen on our recent posts I have started including Millie in our sensory play activities now she is getting older. A few days ago I began making a batch of one of Oscar’s favourite sensory play activities; cloud dough, when I thought I could make it ‘baby-safe’ and have Millie play with it too. I usually make our cloud dough with baby oil as I love the smell of it when we play with it and it also leaves both mine and Oscar’s skin really smooth after playing with it! But obviously, as Millie is only 9 months old I knew she would put some of the cloud dough in her mouth (as everything goes in there lately!) and baby oil isn’t safe to eat. So I decided to swap our baby oil for olive oil (vegetable oil would work too) to make it an ‘edible’ activity for Millie.

I made the cloud dough during their nap time ready to play with when they woke up. ย I actually made half of our usual cloud recipe as we are travelling soon and have been using up our food supplies I didn’t have enough flour in to make a full batch but it was actually plenty for Oscar and Millie to play with. Millie enjoyed tasting it (of course) and feeling it between her hands (and legs and feet!) and as I put a few sand toys in the box, Oscar enjoyed making some ‘pancakes’ and ‘ice creams’ for me and Millie.

What you need:

4 cups flour

1/2 cup olive or vegetable oil

How to make it:

In a bowl simply mix together the flour and oil until it combines. The texture shouldย look like you are going to make pastry but it you sqeeze it together then you will see how it comes together and holds its shape.

*We usually double this recipe when playing with our cloud dough so I would recommend 8 cups flour and 1 cup oil if you want a decent amount of cloud dough but if your child is a young baby then the 4 cups flour, 1/2 cup oil is enough for them to play with.

cloud2 cloud4 cloud3

Leave a Reply

