2 Ingredient Banana Ice Cream

Leave a comment Standard

baniceMillie loves bananas and they are a regular fixture on our shopping list each week, even though she is the only one in our family who actually likes them! I love the fact that she likes them as they are great to eat as a snack on their own and really simple to prepare but they are also the base of so many recipes that I make for her – banana pancakes, banana and chocolate chip muffins, banana toast, banana and raisin muffins and different smoothie recipes. Also, as I don’t like bananas myself, it means I don’t eat the snacks that I make for her – less calories for me! But for this super healthy and simple recipe, I kind of wish I did like bananas! It would be the perfect snack for when you are dieting yet are craving something sweet!

This 2-ingredient banana ice cream is really easy to make and is much cheaper and healthier than buying normal shop bought ice cream. I prepared this ice cream just before dinner a few nights ago and it was ready for Millie to eat after her dinner had ‘gone down’. I’m not sure if it was the taste or the coldness on her teething gums that she loved but I had to go and get her seconds as she wolfed her first bowl down!

Ingredients:

1 banana

1 tbsp peanut butter

Instructions:

  • Slice the banana and place the pieces onto a plate. Put the banana into the freezer for 2 hours.
  • After 2 hours, place the banana and 2 tbsp of peanut butter into a blender and blend until smooth – it should have an ice cream texture.
  • Enjoy!

Our ice cream batch made 2 baby sized portions for Millie however if you want to make a bigger batch for your family, then simply double (or triple!) the ingredients 🙂

*If you aren’t a fan of peanut butter, you could use a different nut butter or even some chocolate spread like Nutella.

banice1

Leave a Reply

